FEMA Mitigation Grants - Now is the time to for the Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) and Flood Mitigati

FEMA announced the Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 application cycle on August 26, 2019. The application period is September 30, 2019 through January 31, 2020.

Our firm has years of experience with both of these programs. Let us assist you with designing an award-winning application. There are important considerations that need contemplation early on to address the needed Benefit-Cost Ratio (BCR). We can help you upfront to understand how to maximize your ratio.

The total amount of funds that will be distributed under the FY 2019 PDM grant program will be $250 million. All 50 States, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are eligible to receive an allocation of $575,000, in accordance with Section 203(f)(1) of the Stafford Act.

• $20 million, will be set aside for federally-recognized tribal applicants to receive an allocation of $575,000 per tribe.

• The balance of PDM grant program funds will be distributed on a competitive basis to all eligible applicants.

• No applicant may receive more than 15 percent, or $37.5 million of the appropriated PDM funding per Section 203(f)(2) of the Stafford Act.

Funding Guidelines The maximum federal share for PDM subapplications is as follows:

• $4 million for mitigation projects;

• $200,000 per applicant for Advance Assistance activities, such as project scoping;

• $10 million for Resilient Infrastructure projects;

• $400,000 for new mitigation plans consistent with 44 CFR Part 201;

• $300,000 for state/territorial and multi-jurisdictional local or tribal mitigation plan updates consistent with 44 CFR Part 201;

• $150,000 for single jurisdiction local or tribal mitigation plan updates consistent with 44 CFR Part 201;

• 10 percent of plan and project subapplications for information dissemination activities, including public awareness and education (brochures, workshops, videos, etc.) related to a proposed planning or project activity;

Eligible Applicants

• States

• District of Columbia

• U.S. Territories

• Federally-recognized Tribal governments

Each State, territory, or Native American Tribal government shall designate one agency to serve as the Applicant for PDM funding. Each Applicant’s designated agency may submit only one PDM grant application to FEMA. Applications under which two or more entities would carry out the award are eligible, such as a multi-State or multi-tribal initiative; however, only one entity may be the Applicant with primary responsibility for carrying out the award. Local governments, including cities, townships, counties, special district governments, and Indian tribal governments (including Federally-recognized tribes who choose to apply as subapplicants) are considered subapplicants and must submit subapplications for mitigation planning and projects to their State/territory Applicant agency. Contact information for the State Hazard Mitigation Officers (SHMOs) is provided on the FEMA website at http://www.fema.gov/state-hazard-mitigation-officers.

NWBOC logo denoting that Grant Managment Associates is WOSB Certified

© 2009 - 2020 Grant Management Associates.
All Rights Reserved.

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle